Super Mommy: Saving the day by getting one job done at a time!

I have not been keeping up with this blog, as I should have.  However, I would like to try redeeming myself.

Catch Up

Over the last several months, our home schooling efforts have been hit or miss.  This fault falls only on my shoulders, as my kiddos absolutely love home schooling.  They beg to do the work, but I have not been keeping up with attendance, lesson plans, or work completed; I allow other things to intrude on what should be our school day.  I would like to think I keep it spontanious.  However, I know that is not really the case.

I attempted NaNoWriMo 2012, but did not finish.  That is okay, because I can write a novel (it’s actually half a novel) any month of the year.  Perhaps January 2013!  (Be on the look out for updates on how my MomNoWriMo:  Mommy’s Novel Writing Month, since November is a busy month for our family.)

A lot of my studies where sustainable living is involved have fallen by the wayside.  We moved into a new house, so I got busy with the move, and then with the new house.  I have not given up on the idea, and am still collecting information on the subject.

Surgery
McGyverAsawa recently put me back on his insurance.  That is a great thing, because I have several medical issues that need to be tended.  First, there is the fact that my back just started bothering me.  I started going to the chiropractor.  My hips tilt foreward, I have a degenerative disc (L5), and the canal where my spinal cord goes is two milimeters smaller than it is supposed to be.  Long story short:  I have to go once a week.

My back is not the only thing I need care for, there are also my huge tonsils.  Every year over the last ten, I end up with tonsillitis between two and four times.  Due to this recurring illness, my tonsils have grown quite a bit.  For this reason, I need them removed.  I will be having a tonsillectomy on Wednesday, December 5th.  Suupposedly, I will be out of it for two weeks.

During the time I will be out of it, my mother will be helping where she can, but she works.  Therefore, it will all fall on McGyverAsawa’s shoulders…  let me just say:  I am not going to be pleased with the condition of my home, when I am able to get back to caring for it.  As a matter of fact, it is not likely I will be pleased with McGyverAsawa, either.  Also, it is unlikely that I will be pleased with the way McGyverAsawa cares for our sons.  I am sure you can fatham my teeth clenching, and my frustrated sigh in this paragraph.

I have just finished my pre-op, and assume (they did not tell me anything) all systems are going in the direction of surgery.  I hate having to wait for the surgery center to call me with my surgery time.  It would have been nice, to know exactly when they’ll be operating.  I am not allowed to eat after Midnight tomorrow night, so I do hope the surgery is not too late in the day.  I plan to eat a good bit of protien for my “last meal,” and to avoid sweets.  This, I hope, will keep my blood sugar from spiking, so I will not feel too hungry, too early in the day.

Leave a Reply

